A Year of Gratitude

Hello!

It’s incredible to think that tonight we’ll turn the last page in the book of 2015. I have to say its a year I’m going to be sad to see end. What a year it was!

We welcomed our first grandchild and attended the wedding of our daughter in Napa Valley all within a span of six weeks. To see both of your children realizing their dreams is such a joy. Yes, 2016  has definitely got some big shoes to fill!

I recently read a quote of Claire Morgan’s about New Year’s Eve and loved it. Claire said,

“It’s suspended there to remind us before we pop the champagne and celebrate the new year, to stop and reflect on the year that has gone by, to remember both our triumphs and missteps, our promises made and broken, the times we opened ourselves up to great adventures . . . or closed ourselves down for fear of getting hurt, because that’s what new year’s all about, getting another chance, a chance to forgive, to do better, to do more, to give more, to love more and to stop worrying about what if  . . .  and start embracing what will be so when that ball drops at midnight, and it will drop, lets remember to be nice to each other, kind to each other and not just tonight but all year long.”

I’ve thought about that quote a lot today and the things that spoke loudest. Did I open myself to great adventures? Did I close down in fear of getting hurt? Did I spend more time worrying about what if rather than what will be? Yes, yes and yes.

I doubt many of us arrived at the finish line  having reached and achieved all that we set out to do this year  but if we arrived  having strived to do our best and if we made the world a better, brighter place for even one person, I’d like to think that has to count for something too.

There is no perfect performance review in life. We can all do better or more and I hate to think that this time of year is meant to be a time for beating ourselves up only to face the coming year with shoulders rounded, our gaze lowered and our head bent. How can any good possibly come of that?

I think we need to be realistic . . .  I think we need to be fair and kind when it comes to self evaluation. We’re going to screw up! We’re going to falter and even fall flat on our face sometimes but there’s a real danger if one spends all their time and focus on those moments. I think focusing on the positives is far more productive than dwelling on our missteps.

As you go about writing the  pages in the book of 2016 I  hope your focus will be to fill each page  with gratitude.

Gratitude for each door opened, for every kindness given and received. Gratitude for the lessons learned, the risks taken and those left to be realized.

Gratitude for each breath you draw, each person you meet and each goal you reach . . . let 2016 be your year to celebrate YOU and all life has to offer.

May 2016 hold all the joy and wonder your lovely heart can hold. Happy New Year and as always, thank you for stopping by.

With Gratitude,

Bev

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Year of Gratitude

  1. Anita Pollak

    Oh Bev, this quote and your words resonate so deeply for me, especially “closed ourselves down for fear of getting hurt”… Your positive attitude and beautiful way with words are such an inspiration to me, and I hope that you and your loved ones have a happy, healthy year in 2016!

    I look forward to all you have to share in the coming year, my friend!

    Hugs,

    Anita

    Like

    1. Gathered Gratitude

      Thank you so much Anita. It was a wonderful find with a message I need to “sit” and spend some time with. I’m so grateful to you for taking the time to stop by and for your lovely comment along with all of the beauty and inspiration you have shared this past year. I can’t begin to tell you how glad I am to have connected with you. Happy New Year to you and yours. I treasure more than ever the connection we’ve made!

      Like

Leave a Reply

