Print It!

Hello and Happy Monday!

It seems that anyone you meet these days owns a smartphone of some kind or another. Cell phones are said to lead the pack when it comes to being the number one device used for capturing our special moments and memories.

Have you ever stopped to think how many times you’ve seen someone pull  out their cell phone and snap a picture? It happens hundreds of thousands of times on any given day around the globe

So now you have a ton of great images on your phone. Awesome! But let me ask you this . . .  what good are they doing you?  How often do you actually look at them?

I can only speak for myself when I say that I might show someone the odd image here and there but as fast as I’ve shown it, I’ve forgotten it.  Just like the images before it, it becomes buried among all the other special moments and captures. . .  Right!?

I have a wonderful friend I met on Facebook (I think its incredible how people can connect and become such great friends through social media these days) who  posted something on my wall that I think says it all.

It said, “We take pictures as a return ticket to a moment otherwise gone.” Isn’t that just it!  I love that! It sums it up perfectly for me.

I’m forever worried about missing that special moment and as a result I have a cell phone that protests often with error messages about “not having enough storage.”  But it doesn’t have to be that way . . . .

Most of us get  panicked if we think we’ve lost any of the photo’s on our cell phone or if we don’t have enough storage to take that next shot. Sure we can move things over to our PC or laptop but realistically – will we ever look at those images again?

I’m a great believer in coffee table books, greeting cards or pretty much anything that takes those images and puts them into print. Suddenly those images have a purpose and they’re more easily shared and enjoyed.

There’s several apps (shocking I know! – smile) that take your smartphone images and turn them into tangible memories. Brilliant right!!

The products available today make wonderful displays of those moments you captured and treasure and they also make wonderful gifts. (there’s that whole thing about some guy in a red showing up sometime soon)

So today I’m going to share a few apps I’ve come across and one I learned about in The Studio with Kim Klassen that I’ve actually tried and l-o-v-e!

I really encourage you to treat yourself and try printing  just a few of the images off your cell phone. It’s hard to explain but there’s just something about seeing those images in print that’s so gratifying.

You might want to check the customer reviews on these apps to see what experience users have had. Not always 100% reliable but I still think they can be helpful.

  1. Print Studio  (FREE) I’ve used this app (the images at the top of this post were done through these guys)  and I can’t say enough about how gorgeous the paper they use is or the quality of their prints.
  2. Postal Pix Photo Prints (FREE) I haven’t tried these guys out but  I see they offer aluminum prints on their site. That medium makes for some incredible prints!
  3. Shutterfly (FREE)  These guys are also behind the Groove Book App that gives you the ability to turn 100 photo prints in custom photo books that are  delivered to you monthly.
  4. Picca Print (FREE) You can choose from all  the photos stored on your phone, including Instagram and Hipstamatic.
  5.   MPix  (FREE) 

These are just a few of the apps out there but they aren’t the only ones by any stretch of the imagination. I’d love to hear what you think if you try any of them. Until tomorrow!

With Gratitude,

 

Bev

 

2 thoughts on “Print It!

  1. Marilyn Battaglia

    Thanks for sharing this information, I had no idea about any of the options you wrote about. Now that Indo know I might be more conscious about taking pictures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

