The Gift In Ordinary Things

Hello,

I just wanted to say how truly grateful I am that you’ve taken time from your busy day to stop by. I hope you find  a little something to take away from today’s post that makes the time feel like it was well spent.

The other morning I came across a poem and thought . . .  what a great way to start the week!  I hope you’ll think so too. I think its such a lovely and imaginative expression of  appreciation for the ordinary, everyday things in our lives.

The Patience of Ordinary Things by Pat Schneider

It is a kind of love, is it not?
How the cup holds the tea,
How the chair stands sturdy and foursquare,
How the floor receives the bottoms of shoes
Or toes. How soles of feet know
Where they’re supposed to be.
I’ve been thinking about the patience
Of ordinary things, how clothes
Wait respectfully in closets
And soap dries quietly in the dish,
And towels drink the wet
From the skin of the back.
And the lovely repetition of stairs.
And what is more generous than a window?

~ Pat Schneider 
“Another River: New and Selected Poems” 

I read the poem to my husband just now . . (I think he figures blogging has altered my mind and not in a good way, chuckle) but I love how this poem makes one look at seemingly ordinary things in a new light and with a new appreciation.

If you ask me, there’s nothing like a good cup of tea.  Actually tea and I have had quite the affinity for some time.  When my daughter was in high school (and university for that fact) slaving over her books  wrestling with the new concepts she was to learn, my way of tying to empathize with her frustration and exhaustion was to coax her to take break. Those breaks inevitably, would always involve a cup of tea because in my mind, there isn’t anything a good cup of tea and some freshly baked cookies can’t fix.

So friends there’s a few little nuggets of gratitude to look for as you go about your day.

Just remember, life is full of them . . . we just need to take the time to notice.

With Gratitude,

Bev

NaBloPoMo November 2015

2 thoughts on “The Gift In Ordinary Things

  1. Karen

    What a lovely poem. It does make you pause, and appreciate. I am finding myself drawn to poetry of late and appreciate that you shared this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

