Random Acts of Kindness

Hello Friends and thanks so much for being here!

I often find myself marvelling at the kindness of others. The kind word spoken when you least expect it, the random gesture that stops you in your tracks.  I’d like to think we’ve all been a recipient of random acts of kindness at one time or another.

One of the reasons I wanted to start my blog was to celebrate the really wonderful things in life that I see, encounter or learn. I wanted to share the “good news” of this world, something I think those in the media could use to include a lot more of in their reports and newscasts.

During the time that I had a  lot (and I do mean a lot) of time on my hands, I spent countless hours surfing the internet trying to find things to fill my day.

I learned a lot during that time and came across some pretty incredible things.  One of things I came across is something  I’m going to share with you today. I know there’s a pretty good chance you might have already heard about it but on the off-chance you haven’t, I definitely think its worth sharing.

One day during my daily internet stroll, I came across some images that were unique and unlike anything I had seen. (At least if I had, I hadn’t paid any attention to them.) Upon further investigation I learned the pieces were something called mixed media.  I loved the colors, the textures  . . . the almost whimsical nature of the pieces.

I continued on with my search trying to find out more about the process of creating such art and that’s when I came across an artist by the name of Michael deMeng.

Michael had started a group on Facebook as a way for those wanting to bring a smile to a strangers face  through abandoning their art to come together.  It was a means for people to share their passion and to share ideas and gain inspiration. I thought it was one of the most incredible things ever!

Art Abandoment

Within one week of Michael starting the Facebook group, it  had grown to over 2,500 members! It was about that time when I joined. (It seems so odd to think back how my first outing after seven months of convalescing was to a nearby park so I could abandon a piece of art for the group.)

Today the Facebook group boast over 24,000 members from around the globe (hence my earlier thought that you may very well know of it) and there have been as many and more pieces of beautiful art abandoned in everything from stores, elevators and washrooms to office buildings and parks just to name a few.

Suffice it to say the group has touched a lot of lives and has had a profound impact on many of the recipients. (you can read many of their comments posted on the Facebook group.)

Below are some things in Michael’s words as to why he started the group:

“A few ideas behind this:
  • I think it’s important to be able let one’s art live a life beyond its creator.   I love imagining what becomes of my art after it is gone…whether given or sold.
  • Some folks can’t seem to let go of their work…even when they sell it.  This is a great way to learn to move on.
  • It’s also a way sharing work with an unsuspecting patron.   In this day and age when money is tight, this is a way of encouraging folks to stay involved in the arts.
  • This is good for the soul.   A random kind act.
  • You’ll find it’s a bit addictive…and fun “
    For anyone interested in joining Art Abandonment, Michael has posted the following information;

“So here is how to play if you wanted to join in:

  1. All you have to do is make a piece of art.  (as simple or as elegant as you like)
  2. Write a little note on it explaining that it is a gift
  3. Also mention that if the finder would like to share info about its fate they can contact you directly i.e. email.  Then you can share the info with us if you are so inclined.  It’s not a bad idea to leave your web address and contact info…you never know…you might have created a new patron.
  4. Photograph what you’re leaving behind
  5. Then leave it…walk away…run…try not to get caught.
  6. Then on Facebook share the location and photo of your gift with the rest of us.  Here’s the group address: http://www.facebook.com/groups/ArtAbandonment/
  7. Keep your fingers crossed that someone lets us know what became of it.  I certainly doubt that everyone will take the time to inform the group.  A few artists have already been contacted by the “finders”.

For anyone wanting to join the Art Abandonment Facebook group, you’ll find Art Abandonment logos and tags for your use under the file section like the ones below created by Nancy Smith.

6a0133f2bc2c05970b017615a651de970c-800wi

Oh and one last thing . . .  just incase you think the idea’s fabulous but that there’s no way you could possibly join us because you’re no Picasso, just check out some of the ideas on my Art Abandonment Pinterest board and you’ll see that there are loads of options and little reason to hold you back from bringing  a smile to someone’s face!

I’d love to hear from you if you’ve been involved in the group or are thinking of joining.

With Gratitude,

Bev

NaBloPoMo November 2015

Leave a Reply

