You’re Never Too Old To Play

Hello!

Do you remember me saying how passionate I am about photography? Well then you probably aren’t surprised that what I want to share with you today involves a camera. (that’s not a groan I just heard was it?)

All jokes aside, if you own a smart phone or a camera then I think you might like what I’m about to share. I think it’s pretty incredible!

We’re so fortunate to live in the era we do where technology and innovation have opened so many doors and opportunities. Photography and cameras have definitely benefitted from both and as a result so have we.  It’s never been easier to capture those special moments than it is today.

Statistics say that by 2016 there will be over 2 billion smart phone users worldwide and that by the close of this year the world will have snapped and captured just over one trillion photos  . . . that’s a mind-boggling number!

The thing I love about photography is the creative outlet it provides. No matter what kind of camera you’re using, there are endless ways in which to tell a story or to create visual art,  the only limit to the possibilities is . . .  our imagination.

I so admire the photographers that think outside the box. The way they style a shoot or compose a shot truly sets them apart. I also appreciate the photographers that don’t take themselves too seriously and as a result can experiment and play. The results can be nothing short of spectacular.

If you live in these parts you already know that winters can be pretty brutal so I’m all for anything that can entice me outdoors especially if it can provide an opportunity to do something cool (sorry . . no pun intended!)  and possibly provide me with an amazing photo.

Recently I came across an article posted on a photography group I follow. The founder, Chris Raztlaff, had been interviewed by one of the local newspapers regarding some of his unique photographs. Looking at his images I was instantly reminded that I had “pinned” something just like it while convalescing. It was a spectacular image of a frozen bubble!

Beautiful Frozen Bubble by Chris Ratzlaff Photography

Chris is no stranger to the elements and has taken some of the most incredible photographs of the northern lights, many in the dead of winter.

Last winter he braved one of our colder days (-26C I believe) to capture his frozen bubble images. I knew the minute I laid eyes on them again,  that this would be the winter where I was finally going to get to try to capture my own.

During his interview with CBC, Chris was kind enough to included his special bubble recipe (apparently not all bubble solutions are created equal!) as well as some helpful tips. You’ll find the full interview and how to here: frozen bubbles)

If you do experience icy temperatures and happen to brave the elements this winter with camera in hand, I’d love it if you would consider sharing your photos here.

I’m certain frozen bubbles must be like snow flakes where no two are the same but whether you do or don’t give this a try,  just remember . . . you’re never too old to play!

With Gratitude,

Bev

NaBloPoMo November 2015

2 thoughts on “You’re Never Too Old To Play

Leave a Reply

