The Good But Not So Pretty

Hello!

Thanks so much for being here!

Say . . .  did you happen to get a chance to pop over and visit Carol at Openhart yet?  Chances are if you did, you’re still pouring over all of those gorgeous images and recipes. I get it!  I SO get it!  My morning routine is to pour myself a nice hot cuppa and then languish amongst her posts soaking up every detail and savouring every beautiful image.

So now its time to move onto the promised “good” recipe with the not so pretty presentation. *cringe*  I have to tell you there’s absolutely no doubt in my mind that a food blogger I shall never be but like I say, I so admire each and everyone of them!  I’m not sure exactly what I’ll be when I grow up but I can promise you I’m leaving that one to the experts.

The recipe I promised is one I’ve had for years that was scratched down on some random piece of paper. I have no idea where it came from or whose recipe it is so if by some strange twist of fate its yours please, just leave me your info and I’ll be more than happy to give credit where credit is due!

This recipe has some unusual ingredients but I assure you, they all go together to make an incredibly tasty and hearty soup that’ll stick to those ribs on a cold winters day. Like I say, its been a family favorite with more than a few.

Slow Cooker Moroccan Red Lentil Soup

Morrocan Soup

Here’s your ingredients for that shopping list!

  • 2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 large cooking onions – medium slice
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 cups red lentils rinsed and drained (split is fine)
  • 7 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 20 oz tin crushed tomatoes
  • 1 tsp. ground turmeric
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 2tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. sea or kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
To be added 10 minutes prior to serving:
  • the juice from 1 fresh lemon
  • 3 Tbsp. flat leaf parsley
  • 1 Tbsp. cilantro (optional)
  • 1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes

How it goes together:

Heat olive oil in a large Dutch oven and add sliced onions cooking just until tender over medium heat. (approximately 3 minutes)

onion

Now add the minced garlic, coriander, cumin, turmeric, paprika, cinnamon, salt and pepper and cook for an additional minute. The aroma is AMAZING!

spices

Next add the crushed tomatoes

tomatoes

Now its time to add the 2 cups of rinsed red lentils

red lentils

Bring all of the ingredients to a boil and then transfer them to a 5 – 6 quart crockpot. Cover, and select  the desired cooking temperature below.

8 -10 hours on  low setting or 4 – 5 hours on high setting

10 minutes prior to serving its time to add:

  • 1 lemon juiced
  • 3 Tbsp. flat parsley
  • 1 Tbsp. cilantro
  • 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes

lemons

So friends there you have it! I hope you’ll give it a try a let me know what you think.

With Gratitude,

Bev

NaBloPoMo November 2015

4 thoughts on “The Good But Not So Pretty

  1. Karen

    This recipe is drop dead delicous! I have made it for years now, thanks to you!
    Oh, and the pictures are awesome. Yes, you can be a food bloger, because now you are : )

    Like

  2. Donna Goodrick

    I love recipes with unusual ingredients & I always tell people that the world is my guinea pig. I never have people to dinner without having at least one new recipe included in the meal. This will undoubtedly be the one I use on the next unsuspecting group of friends!!! I agree with Karen, the pictures are great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

