Seasons . . .

Hello There!

Today Mother Nature decided to change things up a bit here . . . it snowed off and on all day. *groan* I don’t think it’s here to stay just yet but that day’s not far off now.

I don’t know why but this time of year is typically a time of reflection for me. It’s not at New Years like one would think, rather for me it’s always been right around the end of October or the early part of November.

It’s around this time I find myself sitting in disbelief that yet another summer and soon to be autumn, have come and gone. My mind spins back over the last few months while taking a quick synopsis of things. What were the special memories? What were the things we missed and need to remember for next years list?

This summer and autumn were shall we say . . . rather full.  There was the arrival of our new grand-daughter as summer drew to a close followed by the destination wedding of our daughter in the fall. At the time it seemed like the perfect summer and autumn ending with a new life and new beginnings to celebrate. Sadly however, stirring beneath the joy was the gnawing realization that yet another season of sorts was drawing closer to completion as well.

My Dad had suffered a stroke on the day of his 87th birthday and further investigation would reveal he had suffered a silent heart attack a few months earlier.  As I sat watching Mother Nature lay down her blanket of white once more, I thought a lot about the seasons. I wasn’t thinking just about hot summer breezes and the splendid colours of fall, I was thinking about the seasons of life . . . my Dad’s life.

My Dad has this thing he says all the time.  He says, ” life’s like a book. It has its beginning, a middle and an end.” He says that  ‘”we’re all going to reach the end of our story, we just don’t know when or what it’s going to look like”.  With my Dad being 87, I know for certain he’s lived far more years than he has left but it seems unbelievable that we have somehow now entered the winter of his life.

It’s all the wonderful things about him I reflect upon as I watch the flakes continue to drift from the sky and I make a solemn pact with myself . . . I won’t waste another minute dwelling on what this new season might bring or what was missed in the ones before it. Instead, I’ll embrace each moment while being grateful to have this season, any season, to spend making precious memories with my Dad.

In Gratitude,

Bev

NaBloPoMo November 2015

5 thoughts on “Seasons . . .

  1. Donna Goodrick

    I will never regret all the time I spent making memories with my mom during the last season of her life. It was a gift I will treasure always. Blessings to you & your dad. ❤️

    Like

    1. Gathered Gratitude

      Donna I remember so well that time as you were going through it. My heart ached for you with the “knowing” of that journey. I think about you and your Mom often as this new journey in life unfolds. Thanks for being here. 💗

      Like

  2. createdforajourney

    It’s hard coming to terms with the latter seasons of life in those we love and care about but it’s obvious you are going to make the most of the time you have left with your dad. In realityy, we really don’t know when that last breathe will be for any of us so I thank you have challenged us to make the most of every day in all aspects of life…..A very inspiring post….

    Like

Leave a Reply

