The Journey

Hello and thanks for stopping by!

Did you ever have one of those moments where you were completely blown away by the amazing sense of “connectedness” in this world? Those little things that turn up in life at the most unexpected of times and places but leave you feeling like there was no coincidence in their surfacing?
This morning as I slowly slipped into the business of Sunday checking my email, getting lost scrolling through the images on Instagram, I had such a moment. I came across an image posted by Xanthe Berkley. (Remember me telling you how she and Kim Klassen had hosted Gather California?)

I would have known it was Xanthe’s image without ever seeing her name. Xanthe has this incredible style that exudes joy and her love of color and life. She’s as delightful in person as the fabulous images and films she creates. If you want to check it out for yourself I highly encourage you to do so. You can see all of her incredible images, videos and courses over at www.xantheberkeley.com

Xanthe’s image today included an invitation to something I’d never heard of. It’s called . . . Are you ready for this? #nablopomo! I know right! What on earth? Apparently while I’ve been busy living under my comfortable rock, the blogging community for the last few years has been calling bloggers to a challenge where for the month of November they post daily. Daily!?!  I know it sounds daunting for the most established of Bloggers but for the new kid on the block you’d have to be out of your mind to consider it right!?  . . .    Nope and I’ll tell you why.

I go back to one of the reasons I decided to start this blog, that whole thing about what you focus on expanding. Like I said, I want to focus on the good in life. The things that me think or look twice that give me that warm glow inside when I stop and realize just how lucky and blessed I am.

Xanthe said a friend of hers one year had taken the approach to the challenge by posting a photo a day. My passion as I mentioned is all things photography.  Learning, creating and sharing it and so I started to think long and hard about the challenge.

Would it push me off that ledge of comfort?  For sure!  Would it undoubtedly take me places I otherwise would never have gotten to? I’d like to think so but one things for sure, I’ll never know if I don’t try and so I’ve made the decision to take on the challenge and see where the journey may lead and although I don’t expect it to be necessarily pretty, I’m confident I’ll grow and learn from it and I’m hoping there’ll be some little gems I find along the way to share with you. (Such a compelling reason for you to continue checking back right? . . . a girl can hope can’t she!)

Today as you start thinking about the week ahead I want to put a challenge to you. Is there something you’ve wanted to try but have been reluctant to commit to? What are the things that hold you back? What are the gifts that could be waiting for you if you took that leap of faith and dared to leave your comfort zone?

No matter what things hold us back, they continue to keep us from realizing our full potential as long as we allow them to and so I ask you to join me in your own personal challenge.  See if you can resist the urge to close the door on an opportunity that presents itself this week. Really stop and think about giving possibility a chance.

If you decide to take up the challenge  I’d love to hear from you what you found on the other side of that door.

The Otherside of Fear

In Gratitude,

Bev

NaBloPoMo November 2015

Leave a Reply

